• Tel: +44 (0) 1932 334200
  • Email: info@hydralectric.com

Buy-in/MBO of Hydralectric wins Deal of the Year Award 2017

Sizing Image

The Buy In/Management Buy Out of Hydralectric won the Deal of the Year Award for transactions under £10m at Insider’s 11th annual South East Dealmakers Awards 2017. Formed in 1976, Hydralectric is a solution-based manufacturer of water hoses and ancillary water controls with premises in Byfleet, Surrey. Beating several other shortlisted deals, it was the professional collaboration of Charles Russell Speechlys, Avondale, Morrisons Solicitors, EMW, Wilson Partners, and Rockpool Investments that proved most impressive to the independent judging panel.

The prestigious awards ceremony, which recognises the achievements of the region’s corporate finance community, took place last Thursday evening (2 February) at the Copthorne Hotel, Effingham Park, Crawley. The transaction of Hydralectric, which completed in October 2016 after Colin Hayward and Paul Ring stepped down as Chairman and Managing Director respectively, was one of thirteen deals and individuals receiving an award. See the full list of winners below.

Hydralectric Managing Director Simon Willis said:

“We at Hydralectric are delighted to be part of the award for Deal of the Year for the South East and we intend to live up to the expectations that were set at the time of acquisition. There is a distinct plan to invest in people and technology to become one of Surrey’s leading growth businesses.”


Insider South East Dealmaker of the Year Awards 2017 – Winners (Deal under £10mil)

Pictured: Andrew Bristow (Chairman of Hydralectric Group) receiving the award, alongside Anthony Francis and Richard Morrison from Rockpool Investments.

Insider is the UK’s most successful regional B2B media company. Insider’s five regional B2B magazines boast over 200,000 subscribers, whilst their market-leading events include award dinners in all regions outside London.

South East Dealmakers Awards 2017 Winners:

Corporate Finance Advisory Firm of the Year
WK Corporate Finance
Corporate Law Firm of the Year
DMH Stallard

Corporate Bank of the Year

Asset-based Lender of the Year
Shawbrook Bank

Corporate Finance Adviser of the Year
Andrew Clegg, Quercus Corporate Finance

Corporate Lawyer of the Year
Keith Syson, Stevens & Bolton

Corporate Banker of the Year
Andrew Rutherford, Shawbrook Bank

Entrepreneur of the Year Award
Tamara Roberts, Ridgeview Wine Estate

Young Dealmaker of the Year
Gemma Legg, RSM

Private Equity / Venture Capital Deal of the Year Award
Investment in Ferrabyrne Ltd by YFM Equity Partners (Advisers Meta Corporate Finance; WK Corporate Finance; Cripps; Coole Bevis; asb law)

Deal of the Year Award for transactions under £10m
BIMBO of Hydra-lectric Group (Advisers and investors: Charles Russell Speechlys; Avondale; Morrisons Solicitors; EMW; Wilson Partners; Rockpool Investments)

Deal of the Year for transactions over £10m
Investment in ByBox by LDC (Advisers and funders: PwC; Spectrum Corporate Finance; Shoosmiths; BDO; Liberty Corporate Finance; Osborne Clarke; RBS)

Dealmaker of the Year Award
Nik Askaroff, EMC Corporate Finance

Post a comment